Paleo Zucchini Pomodoro

20130406-220503.jpg

Pre-Paleo lifestyle, pasta with meat sauce was one of my go-to dinners for nights that lacked culinary creativity. Recognizing that I feel better when I don’t eat pasta, it wasn’t too hard to turn my back.

Ingredients:
1-2 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion
1 large tomato, chopped or roughly diced
1/2 red bell pepper, roughly diced
1/2 cup water
2-3 zucchini
Sea salt & pepper to taste

Begin by heating the olive oil in a pot over low-medium heat, adding in the onion, garlic, and red pepper, sautéing until the onion is translucent.

While your onion, garlic, red pepper cooks, use a julienne peeler (I got mine at Bed, Bath, and Beyond) to cut lovely long zucchini “noodles”. I worked my way through each zucchini until I hit the seedy center.

20130406-222000.jpg

When the onions are tender and translucent, add in the tomatoes and water, stirring gently to combine, still over low-medium heat to keep a simmer or low boil. Then top with the zucchini noodles and cover, allowing the steam to cook the zucchini for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

20130406-222350.jpg

20130406-222312.jpg

I prefer my zucchini al dente, but you may cook longer if you desire a softer meal. Plate and serve, adding sea salt and pepper as preferred. Serves two, or just one if you’re really hungry. Pairs nicely with Garlic Chicken.

Leave a Reply

