Gluten-free Waffles

20130317-201421.jpg

My dear, sweet husband knows how much I love waffles. And in his sweetness he did something I would not have done… He spent $18.95 on waffle mix.

You see, with my gluten sensitivity, I’ve cut many of my favorite breakfast items out of my life for the sake of feeling better. Pancakes, waffles, coffee cake, toast- all gone.

So, back to the most expensive waffles I’ve ever made. The Ad Hoc brand mix is available over at Williams Sonoma along with several other gluten-free mixes. The ingredient list includes several other flours (rice, tapioca, potato) and sugar, so it’s certainly not Paleo, but I’ll take gluten-free when I can find it!! The recipe calls for milk, butter and eggs added to the mix.

20130317-202326.jpg

The batter is almost like a quick-bread dough, quite a bit different than traditional waffle batter. I used my preferred waffle iron settings as usual, and found that was just right.

The waffle’s texture was very similar to a “regular” waffle. The flavor was superb- although a dash of cinnamon or a bit of orange zest would be a nice addition. I topped mine with pure maple syrup.

20130317-203025.jpg

The batter made five waffles, the one I ate plus 4 more in the freezer that I’ll toast up on treat days. As a plus, the box contains 2 packages of mix, so really it wasn’t too outrageously priced ($1.90 a waffle is still cheaper than eating out).

Leave a Reply

