Cinnamon Almond Milk Ice Cream

20130317-135438.jpg

When the “creative in the kitchen” bug strikes, I don’t usually stop with just one new recipe. Today was no different! After starting the Chocolate Banana Almond Milk Ice Cream I got started on another variation.

This recipe calls for:
2 1/4 cups unsweetened almond milk
1 banana
2 tbsp almond butter
1 tsp cinnamon

Begin by blending all of the ingredients- I use an immersion blender, but a regular blender would work too. It is completely safe to taste your concoction, as none of the ingredients require special handling. (Just keep your mouth away from the blender blades genius.) Then following the specific instructions of your ice cream maker, add the liquid to the maker and let it do its thing!!

20130317-140046.jpg

This time I used the ice cream maker attachment with the Kitchenaid. In approximately 15 minutes, I had this:

20130317-140151.jpg

20130317-140203.jpg

Now, I wouldn’t call this ice cream. It’s a bit crumbly, and has a very light flavor that isn’t sweet. I think it’s delightful. Since giving up most processed foods, I’m finding I enjoy flavors I might not have noticed before. And even better, check out the Nutritional Facts below (based on 1/2 cup serving size) By the way, have you read the ingredients list on Ben & Jerry’s – OMG!!! Makes me happy to make my own frozen dessert with ingredients I can identify

20130317-140757.jpg

9 thoughts on “Cinnamon Almond Milk Ice Cream

  1. This sounds delicious! I am a fellow Paleo-gal always looking for good recipes. One thing I didn’t know was there was an ice cream thingy for the Kitchen-Aide. I need this! I will have to try this!

  2. As a lactose intolerant girl I like the idea of being able to make ice-cream that I can actually eat! Thank you. 🙂 And what a neat flavor to try.

  3. Pingback: Top 5 | eventful existence

  4. This tastes awesome! I have had my ice cream maker for a while now and didn’t look for any recipes that were dairy free but you have given me inspiration! Where did you find the nutritional facts website or is that an app? I’d love to know this would help a bunch in my search, thanks again!

  5. Hey, can you actually taste the banana? I love the health benefits of bananas but never liked the taste? Is it covered by the cinnamon and almond milk? Thanks! Would love to try this recipe.

    • The cinnamon is certainly the strongest flavor in this recipe, but I’m certain you will still be able to identify banana in the flavor. Perhaps a less ripened fruit would give less banana taste?

  6. I don’t have an ice cream maker, could I essentially just make the concoction and put it in the freezer?? Thanks! Sounds delish!

    • You could pour the “concoction” into Popsicle molds. Once frozen, the Popsicles would be much more firm than ice cream. Another option would be to use frozen bananas, perhaps dice the bananas prior to freezing — you’ll need a powerful blender to whip the frozen bananas, but this will give you a more smoothie/soft serve texture prior to putting it all in the freezer.

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

