Chocolate Banana Almond Milk ice cream

20130317-133307.jpg

Since “going Paleo” I’ve been replacing my kids’ snack foods with healthier options. (Please understand that I’m eating Paleo and my family is just eating a more Paleo-influenced selection of foods.)

I recently brought home Chocolate Almond milk–my husband was the only one brave enough to try it. (But I need refrigerator space for all my fresh food and prepared-in-advance meals and snacks, so I needed to get creative with that carton of chocolate almond milk, and fast.)

A quick Pinterest search brought me a few almond milk ice cream recipes, and I own two ice cream makers, so ice cream it was to be!!

20130317-133819.jpg

The first batch is Chocolate Banana flavored vegan ice cream.
1 1/2 cups Chocolate Almond Milk
2 bananas

Be sure your ice cream maker is prepared. My freezer bowls had been chilling for 16 hours in advance.

Peel your bananas and place inside a large (32oz+) cup — my Twilight Breaking Dawn cup was perfect. Pour in the chocolate almond milk and combine until smooth using an immersion blender.

Then pour the liquid goodness into your ice cream maker (following the appliance’s instructions) and let the freezing begin! My Cuisinart took just 20 minutes to whip this into a frozen delight!

20130317-134420.jpg

Finally, scoop the frozen treat into an airtight container and place in your freezer until you’re ready to eat!!

My kids both agreed this batch tasted like banana ice cream with only a hint of cocoa. The texture isn’t quite creamy, so I’m thinking a popsicle mold would have been a great alternative. The chocolate almond milk is sweetened with cane sugar, so it wasn’t strict Paleo. But both kids loved it!!

20130317-135058.jpg

This recipe yields 2 cups, or 4 1/2 cup servings. That’s just 90 calories per serving- see Nutritional Facts below

20130317-135312.jpg

One thought on “Chocolate Banana Almond Milk ice cream

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Almond Milk Ice Cream | She Pins, She Tries, She Posts

Leave a Reply

