Reduce, Reuse, Recycle – in the Garden

Here in Southern California we have just a few weeks until the average last frost date. So it’s time to start your seeds indoors. Our neighborhood garden center is already stocked with seed packets for veggies and herbs, and I stocked up!!

This is my third season as a home gardener, so I have a game plan! I know what grows, what struggles to survive, and what doesn’t have a chance in my garden.

This season I started a Garden Journal- keeping track of my garden hopes & dreams, my plans and layouts, and the actual work that I’m doing in the garden. I needed this last year when I couldn’t recall what month I had planted my sweet potatoes.

Back to starting your seeds.

I’ve found many posts on Pinterest about making newspaper seed cups or using egg cartons (the recycled paper ones – not the polystyrene ones) to start seeds in. This year I’m trying several items that I’d ordinarily toss in the recycle bin:

20130203-151234.jpg
See my baby broccoli plants sprouting in this cupcake tray?

20130203-151310.jpg
With the lid on, it’s a mini-greenhouse.

20130203-151345.jpg
The egg carton is an herb nursery.

20130203-151416.jpg
And my sweet potato slips are getting established in origami newspaper and tea packages.

I’m happy to share my garden’s progress, and hopefully soon will have recipes with garden ingredients ready to share!!

In case you are wondering, this year’s crop includes:
Garlic
Onions
Carrots
Sweet potatoes
Rosemary
Thyme
Basil
Sage
Two varieties of tomatoes
Bell peppers
Broccoli
Green Beans
Peas
Lettuce
Spinach
Zucchini
Watermelon
Strawberries

Leave a Reply

